Railroad train games by Rule the Rail - Home Train games, railway games Rule the Rail!

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Automated fiddle yard

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Train games, railway games Rule the Rail! Forum Index -> Creating automatic controls
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
louis



Joined: 22 May 2006
Posts: 30
Location: Oss, Holland

PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2006 9:37 am    Post subject: Automated fiddle yard Reply with quote

OK, I haven't seen all the designs, but I haven't seen something like this before and I use it all the time: an automated system to change trains.
Using different ID's for different trains you can at least sequence 6 trains in a fiddleyard like this. Use your own logic to extend it or just use it like it is.
It's available at http://www.holleman.demon.nl/treinen/IDfiddleyard.zip
_________________
Louis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mclare



Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 5:55 pm    Post subject: Great Design! Reply with quote

Great Design Louis! You could expand it to more trains just by adding more flip flop switches within an Engine ID segment, so one branch for ID 1 could have 3 or four tracks. The first switch ID's the engine and sends it to that siding group. and once it gets in there there it just flip flops to whatever one is open. GREAT DESIGN ! ! ! !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
louis



Joined: 22 May 2006
Posts: 30
Location: Oss, Holland

PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 11:40 am    Post subject: Re: Great Design! Reply with quote

mclare wrote:
Great Design Louis! You could expand it to more trains just by adding more flip flop switches within an Engine ID segment, so one branch for ID 1 could have 3 or four tracks. The first switch ID's the engine and sends it to that siding group. and once it gets in there there it just flip flops to whatever one is open. GREAT DESIGN ! ! ! !


To be honest: I think you'll soon run into troubles, especially with groups of 3 sidings. The problem will be the starting sequence for the next train (which now runs simply from top to bottom). Maybe I'm blind (I'm a very lousy chessplayer), but it could be worth a try Smile
What I did was add a follow up section with simply 3 tracks again for the different ID's, where one incoming train sends off a waiting one on the same track with the same ID. That one totals up to 9 trains already.
_________________
Louis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
louis



Joined: 22 May 2006
Posts: 30
Location: Oss, Holland

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 2:36 pm    Post subject: Re: Great Design! Reply with quote

I've been working on a 3x4 yard, which works OK.
An uneven amount of sidings in one bundle (which would serve one specific ID) will IMO lead to problems, and I believe 6 would do the same.
The bundle entry switches react to ID's, the divider switches are all flip-flops.
The easiest way to expand this would be an increase in ID's from Brainbomb Cool
Incase you are interested I could email the zipped roa file...
_________________
Louis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Chris



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 644
Location: Wisconsin, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 2:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Louis,

Could you send a zipped copy to chris.behrens@yahoo.com?

Regards, Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
louis



Joined: 22 May 2006
Posts: 30
Location: Oss, Holland

PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chris wrote:
Hi Louis,

Could you send a zipped copy to chris.behrens@yahoo.com?

Regards, Chris


Done, Chris. BTW, this one needs v 3 and ext. pack 7 Wink
_________________
Louis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
louis



Joined: 22 May 2006
Posts: 30
Location: Oss, Holland

PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 9:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dratz, before I keep sending those emails:
fetch it at http://www.holleman.demon.nl/treinen/IDfiddleyard12.zip

Enjoy!
_________________
Louis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
louis



Joined: 22 May 2006
Posts: 30
Location: Oss, Holland

PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And now for the funny part:
Of course I wanted to expand this one. So I put another similar layout behind the first one.
The difficult part is to get it running like it should, but I got that done.
What you need is one free track in every 2 sets of sidings for each ID. Which means you cannot put 24 trains in it, but "only" 21.
If you do it right, it means that on every "completion of a cycle" there will be a change. Which means that you maybe can watch a whole day before things will repeat as they were when you started...
(I might be wrong here, but if I calculate right, it means it would take 21 cycles before things will actually repeat for the first time like when you start this thing...)

PS: zipped roa file not available yet, why don't you try it out yourselves? Very Happy
_________________
Louis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Biggs



Joined: 17 Feb 2006
Posts: 179
Location: South of England

PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Louis,
I have been having a go of your track work Idfiddleyard12 and like it very much, can it be addaped to out and back like a terminuse station?
Reg
_________________
The water cress line.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
louis



Joined: 22 May 2006
Posts: 30
Location: Oss, Holland

PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2006 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Biggs wrote:
Hi Louis,
I have been having a go of your track work Idfiddleyard12 and like it very much, can it be addaped to out and back like a terminuse station?
Reg


I think you can. Theoretically, you can do whatever you want between its exit and entrance, as long as you feed a departing train back to the entrance.
_________________
Louis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
louis



Joined: 22 May 2006
Posts: 30
Location: Oss, Holland

PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2006 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I made a basic set for a terminus thing, just 4 tracks with no ID's. You can expand it to 12 using ID's again.

The key thing here is that a train coming in will direct another one out. This one will set the switches right for it's own departure. Since that train will eventually come back, it needs to go to the same track. So when it comes back, it won't change any switches position. If it would, it would also mess up the whole system.

The other thing is: a pulling engine coming in becomes a pushing one going out, so keep an eye on the placement of controls Very Happy

If you want to make it real hard: place a return loop at the other end, so the train gets back reversed Wink
That could probably be done too, but you'd need double controls to set switches right for departing trains: one for the engine on the far end and another one for the engine on the near end....

If you can't sort it out (talking about the basic one now), provide me with an email addy so I can send you the roa file (which cannot be done using this forum's email options).
_________________
Louis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
louis



Joined: 22 May 2006
Posts: 30
Location: Oss, Holland

PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2006 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

louis wrote:
If you want to make it real hard: place a return loop at the other end, so the train gets back reversed Wink
That could probably be done too, but you'd need double controls to set switches right for departing trains: one for the engine on the far end and another one for the engine on the near end....


Ermmm.... It CAN be done Razz
Not even double controls needed: just place the engine in the middle of a train. Use the Governors' Intercity-125 type, perfect to combine with 2 sets of 3 or 4 cars, with just one engine in the middle. But don't use the night feature coz' it's not decent to see the big headlight somewhere in the middle Cool

Hint: could we perhaps have dummy engines with working headlights and acting like carriages? Idea
_________________
Louis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
peter



Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Posts: 581
Location: germany,Thuringia

PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2006 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi louis,chris,biggs and mcclare
this fiddleyard from louis can be combined with runaround from gov in both modes(analoque as digital). See this as a fork with 2 or 3 lines on both ends of the track,id test this many times and its running perfect. austindave demonstrate it in the coaltrack 125.roa for analoque. Smile Smile
_________________
for next time and thanx Peter
如 如 Nothing is impossible if we make it together.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Train games, railway games Rule the Rail! Forum Index -> Creating automatic controls All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum