Railroad train games by Rule the Rail - Home Train games, railway games Rule the Rail!

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Need help
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Train games, railway games Rule the Rail! Forum Index -> Layouts
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
austindave



Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 391
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 9:34 pm    Post subject: Need help Reply with quote

I got this new track all most drawn, just the rails. It may even be to complicated to work. But I need help from all you dudes that like goods yards. I an't a clue what to do. I need somthing cool to happen between goods A and goods B. Also got a loop for goods loading (easy way out of a engine tunaround). And goods A has to accommodate the trains from the goods loading area. Send any idears to goods competition p.o. box RTR. See link for pic that was drawn by my 4 year old son. Sorry it was me carn't blame the kids for everthing.

http://freespace.virgin.net/dayle.dave/stuff/Big%20Terminus.jpg

Thanks Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Blazer9



Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 211
Location: Jacksonville FL

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 10:49 pm    Post subject: Ideas for switching yards Reply with quote

Dave,

One way to overcome the issue with switching yards and how complicated they can become is a trick that Chris provided me with and that is to use a hidden track with just an engine to control the switches and track control. This allows infinite control outside of the main tracks. I have hidden control trains within buildings and landscaping as to not disrupt the main focus of my layout.

I hope this gives you an idea to aid in your problem.

Happy RailRoading

Don aka Blazer9
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Chris



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 644
Location: Wisconsin, USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 27, 2006 3:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Dave,

I would suggest an interchange between two railroads.

I'm including links to three proof of concept designs that represent something I've hoped to put together for coal operations from mining to end usage. They aren't pretty, more an effort to identify weaknesses and shortcomings.

1. Coal01a.zip is something those of you who have watched my progress may be familiar with; specifically, the loading of ore cars at the mining site. I've made some changes from the original design so it might be of interest to those that saw my initial attempt.

2. Coal26a.zip may also be familiar to some of you, dropping empty wagons and picking up filled wagons. I've changed the line from an oval to point-to-point as one would see in the 'real world.' It also includes dropping consists at the interchange yard and running the diesels into an engine yard. Here you see two local consists working the coal mining region and one larger regional/national consist going to some consumption/transshipment destination and back.

3. coal28A.zip is the first operation in the interchange where the local coal consists are broken down and reassembled for the trip to the power generation station (or some other destination, perhaps a port). The four engines that provide motive power are reassembled and positioned in the interchange yard.

In any event, these layouts demonstrate the use of the control engines Don mentioned in his post.

I've put this project on the back burner in the hopes that Brainbom will come up with a model of North American ore hoppers with the appropriate trucks.

Regards, Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
austindave



Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 391
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Sep 27, 2006 7:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don, Chirs

Thanks For the ideas. Chris I have looked at these layouts and will look again as a refresher I have never use a hidden track with just an engine to control the switches and track controls so it's all new to me. But thats the great thing about RTR we all do it a bit different and other peoples ideas help a lot. Chris I'll have a mess with your tracks to see if I can get to grips with the control systems. I may need this type of control to do the reast of my layout as well? Shocked Confused Cool

Thanks Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Chris



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 644
Location: Wisconsin, USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 27, 2006 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Dave,

They may be a bit overwhelming if you've not tried control engines before and my apologies for that. Start with the control engine and the commands it issues to the display layout.

I had read elsewhere where someone had advised that you take out pencil and paper and record the command sequence a step at a time: which switch needs to be manipulated, what power settings have to be adjusted, etc. I would suggest you follow the same approach as you design your layout.

I'd also recommend that you divide the project into manageable sections on the same worktable. You can eventually combine the layout (and perhaps some of the control engine operations). Breaking the project into bite-sized pieces avoids having to continually cycle through a huge layout to get to the portion you're working on.

Should you decide to go the control engine route I'd be happy to look over what you've done and provide suggestions or help with any problems you may encounter.

Regards, Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
peter



Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Posts: 581
Location: germany,Thuringia

PostPosted: Wed Sep 27, 2006 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi chris,don and dave
Id dowload the jpeg from dave,v seen all coals from chris,and the fiddleyard form dave. The contoler loco is a good idea,you will control the tracks and switches with these loco,and if the operation complete then conroler loco has to return to the start point. A shunter will be enoth and all controles on controler track has to becontacted ONLY from 1 direction. Exclamation If its running perfect then hide that track in a hill. Wink
_________________
for next time and thanx Peter
如 如 Nothing is impossible if we make it together.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
austindave



Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 391
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 7:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just had a thought . Allthough I not tryed the control system that chris and don use yet. But what if you had your control track as a loop then it would not have to go back to the begining it would just return to the start of the loop. The only disadvantage I can think of is space. Peter I got your email will look at em later.

Thanks Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Chris



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 644
Location: Wisconsin, USA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The other disadvantage being that you cannot put as many controls into the same length of track nor can you modify it as easily as a straight length of track (nor perhaps hide it as easily).

You may have noticed that on one or two of my control tracks, the engine returns a partial distance to repeat a certain number of steps. That helps to control the length of the control track as well as cut down on the number of controls you have to 'program' in.

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Blazer9



Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 211
Location: Jacksonville FL

PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chris,

i agree with you on this it is harder to place as many controls when using curved track. On all of my sidings I have offset the curve with a minimum of two small sections of straight track to allow for controls to be placed to operate the switches and the block, also on the straight leg of the switch I have placed two short one medium then two more shorts to allow for powering the block and resetting of the thru way. this allows for shorter segments of track in a controlled condition.


Hope this helps

Don aka Blazer9
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
austindave



Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 391
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I didn't mean just curves. I ment a control track like chris already uses just loop it back round to the begining, and also on the other straight bit you could have more controllers. Anyway I an't no expert on this type of control gota get my head round it. But I have started to put some controlers on my track. On the big station I have put controllers so that all the trains exiting it set the points the right way. As I think of the trains coming in I may have to use a control track. As I am trying to get it so that any train will got to the next empty platform regardless of ID. And pigs will fly. Laughing

Thanks Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
austindave



Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 391
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chris, Don

I got my fist attempt at using a conrtol track to work. I have got the 6 terminus station to work in and out. I used a control track to let trains in which when they stop at a platform sets off another train allready at a platfom to go. The trains that come out of the station use there own controllers placed on the track. It also has used no Train ID's. See link. Thanks For your help so far in this new type of conrtrol for me.

http://freespace.virgin.net/dayle.dave/stuff/term%20test.zip

Thanks Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
austindave



Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 391
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I now got my 6 track terminus station working to a 4 track terminus station with 10 trains on it. Now all I gota do is get them to stop a half way station so that meens I'll need stop and start control sections. And I still not used an train ID's. I like the control system Chris 'n' Don use. Cheers guys.

Thanks Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Chris



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 644
Location: Wisconsin, USA

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dave,

Think how sweet it would be if Brainbom enables a scripting capabiltiy so that we don't need these control trains!

I'm glad this is working out for you.

Regards, Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
peter



Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Posts: 581
Location: germany,Thuringia

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi chris and Dave,
This should be a counter to set a number 1...9 and so on to a functon for that number to do. Who has only to define the oberation for the number and if a loco pass the controler for the counter,the counter will go steps from number to number,and over the last number the counter has to return to the first number. That were a good ad to RTR Wink Smile,that brainbom could implement as a new feature. Idea Exclamation
_________________
for next time and thanx Peter
如 如 Nothing is impossible if we make it together.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
peter



Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Posts: 581
Location: germany,Thuringia

PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2006 6:35 pm    Post subject: switchingyard to goodyard Reply with quote

Hi Dave,
If you wnat take a look for the expanded version of the board,that i sent to you,then you may download it here Cool Wink Smile
I hope this Idea,youll make this or same also in analoque. This is digital and without a controlertrack.


_________________
for next time and thanx Peter
如 如 Nothing is impossible if we make it together.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Train games, railway games Rule the Rail! Forum Index -> Layouts All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum