Railroad train games by Rule the Rail - Home Train games, railway games Rule the Rail!

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Need for more speed
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Train games, railway games Rule the Rail! Forum Index -> Others
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Biggs



Joined: 17 Feb 2006
Posts: 179
Location: South of England

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 1:24 pm    Post subject: Need for more speed Reply with quote

I have just been watching a TV program (discovery) and it was about the Freightliner engine we have.
It said it can pull many wagons with all the power it has in its engine.
Do you think it would be possible to have our Freightliner pull more than 10 wagons before it starts to loose power.
_________________
The water cress line.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
peter



Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Posts: 581
Location: germany,Thuringia

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Reg,
IŽll also checked itŽs so. IŽll see for pulling power of loco in Xli-file. If i have news,youŽll know it first.
_________________
for next time and thanx Peter
如 如 Nothing is impossible if we make it together.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Chris



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 644
Location: Wisconsin, USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Peter,

I believe you can increase/decrease the top-end speed of an individual loco by altering a parameter within the corresponding xli file but I believe the 10 car hauling limitation at optimal speed is more likely a system variable across the entire motive spectrum.

Best regards, Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Willi_Leopold



Joined: 20 Aug 2006
Posts: 226
Location: St. Gallen / Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Peter and Chris,

Yes, you can only change the maximum speed in the xli file. Maybe there's a correlation between max speed and pulling power? I don't know.

Kind regards,

Willi
_________________
Have Fun with Rule The Rail on Leopold's Hobby Page!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
peter



Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Posts: 581
Location: germany,Thuringia

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Willi,Chris and Reg,
That parameters of speed is true,i didnŽt found the value for the pulling power of loco. Question May be top speed for the locos can make a loco stronger or not,iŽll try it. Idea

Why the very active members are posting here? Confused May be we active have to open a new topic "Meckerecke"
_________________
for next time and thanx Peter
如 如 Nothing is impossible if we make it together.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
louis



Joined: 22 May 2006
Posts: 30
Location: Oss, Holland

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2006 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Willi_Leopold wrote:
Hi Peter and Chris,

Yes, you can only change the maximum speed in the xli file. Maybe there's a correlation between max speed and pulling power? I don't know.

Kind regards,

Willi


Can it be the value of 11 and 14 I see in the base-trains.xli file for the two basic loco's and ditto in the add-trains.xli files? I am just checking them, haven't had any time to check out what the results of changing these are.
_________________
Louis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
louis



Joined: 22 May 2006
Posts: 30
Location: Oss, Holland

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2006 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

louis wrote:

Can it be the value of 11 and 14 I see in the base-trains.xli file for the two basic loco's and ditto in the add-trains.xli files? I am just checking them, haven't had any time to check out what the results of changing these are.


Well it isn't, those are the speed values. I'm trying this on the basic set of RtR coz' it loads a lot faster. Messing with values of the 2 locos and the container car the only stuff I found out is:

ENGINE_TYPE 1204 mozd03.x 0.007 Engine03
NOREF
1.1
14
0
2881572

the value of 0.007 scales the model: changing it to 0.001 will make it look like a 1:87 model pulling a real train Laughing
14 looks like the max speed setting. Changing the value of the small shunter engine to 14 made them run equally fast.

Perhaps the value of the max nr. of cars which can be pulled is set in the program file incl. the gradual decrease of speed when you add more than somany...
_________________
Louis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Willi_Leopold



Joined: 20 Aug 2006
Posts: 226
Location: St. Gallen / Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2006 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Louis,

Yes, your'e right about the values. You can't change anything here except from the max speed - or the scale as you found out. Laughing

The first value after NOREF, 1.1 in your example, has to do with the length of the engine.

Btw, with the new Layout Viewer you can switch between Basic and Full mode with one button click, exactly for such experimenting purposes.

Kind regards,

Willi
_________________
Have Fun with Rule The Rail on Leopold's Hobby Page!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Biggs



Joined: 17 Feb 2006
Posts: 179
Location: South of England

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2006 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have no fear, I have found the answer to the pulling power, its easy, just add another engine or two.

They don't make engine's as good as the steam days.
_________________
The water cress line.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
austindave



Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 391
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2006 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just had a mess with the scale size of engine 02 in base kit. Made me laught so much I cryed almost for 10 seconds. Laughing Great fun watch out for the giant loco taking over the world when I changed it to 1.000.

Thanks Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
louis



Joined: 22 May 2006
Posts: 30
Location: Oss, Holland

PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Biggs wrote:
Have no fear, I have found the answer to the pulling power, its easy, just add another engine or two.

They don't make engine's as good as the steam days.


That's right and it was mentioned already somewhere in the release of the basic stuff. The problem however IS that on complex layouts with a lot of controls, you'll run into trouble controlling the stuff.
Besides, I think that a big engine shud be able to pull let's say 20 two-axle tankers without much trouble instead of slowing down to about half-speed Crying or Very sad
_________________
Louis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Chris



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 644
Location: Wisconsin, USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Louis,

You can mitigate the control nightmare to some extent by requiring that only engines with IDs activate controls, even if you have to assign 1, 2, and 3 as engines that activate it.

Then, give only one engine per train an ID.

I do agree with your statement that larger, more powerful engines should be able to handle more cars.

Regards, Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
peter



Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Posts: 581
Location: germany,Thuringia

PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi All,
The speed is not only controled by engines
see for this here:
CWAGON_TYPE 1135 r_tanker2.X 0.0065 r_ tanker2
NOREF
0.51
10 <- permission speed to go
0
3457910
_________________
for next time and thanx Peter
如 如 Nothing is impossible if we make it together.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
louis



Joined: 22 May 2006
Posts: 30
Location: Oss, Holland

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

peter wrote:
Hi All,
The speed is not only controled by engines
see for this here:
CWAGON_TYPE 1135 r_tanker2.X 0.0065 r_ tanker2
NOREF
0.51
10 <- permission speed to go
0
3457910


That's correct, but raising the figure to 19 still slows down the engines considerably.
I bet the limitation is built-in into the executable somewhere Mad
_________________
Louis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
peter



Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Posts: 581
Location: germany,Thuringia

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Louis,
Can it be this value is it so,if you raise it then the wagon has more break.
See in the useclub7.xli and up,there is a 0 as value and the wagons are faster.,mostly the gondolas. Idea
_________________
for next time and thanx Peter
如 如 Nothing is impossible if we make it together.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Train games, railway games Rule the Rail! Forum Index -> Others All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum