Railroad train games by Rule the Rail - Home Train games, railway games Rule the Rail!

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Testing 1.5
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Train games, railway games Rule the Rail! Forum Index -> New program version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
austindave



Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 391
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oooo getting exiting. I have also been trying sounds controled by a controler works a treat. Also some of the sound box's we made now don't have to be engine type cool. I have got 1 of Gnomes Xgates to rotate using the new control. Fabtastic. I'm now laying the twistist track ever to watch them moving bogies.

Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
peter



Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Posts: 581
Location: germany,Thuringia

PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hay Dave,
Did you dload my latest sound mod over little Ville yet? Wink Wink
Peter
_________________
for next time and thanx Peter
如 如 Nothing is impossible if we make it together.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
austindave



Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 391
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi BB I is wondering if you can help. I'm trying to make a new sound box. I have used the xfile for my station sound and gave it another ID number. Put entrys in to usr Xli list, put entrys in to soundsorces list. It just won't make a sound. But when I swap the wav file in the sound sorces list with the station it works. Here is the soundsource entry

10427 2tone.wav loop
10430 station.wav loop

The station 1 works like this and the other 1 not.

10427 station.wav loop
10430 2tone.wav loop

When like this the 2tone works and the station not. I have also been using a bigger ID number it was 10869 at 1st this did not work. So I tryed a lower number to see if it was out or range. I have also got the 10430 to work with a controller. I have also copyed and made another X file sound box but still won't work. Here are the usr Xli entrys

960956
2
MISC_TYPE 10430 ambstat.x 0.05 Station_snd
-
-
0
0
1364511
MISC_TYPE 10427 ambstat.x 0.05 XG2tone_snd
-
-
0
0
1364511

Here is a link to the sound It is in the right format 22hk 16bit 'n' such.

http://freespace.virgin.net/dayle.dave/stuff/2tone.WAV

And here is the xfile with texture. Texture goes in object/bitmaps

http://freespace.virgin.net/dayle.dave/stuff/ambstat.zip

Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
peter



Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Posts: 581
Location: germany,Thuringia

PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 7:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hay Dave,
If you want to control it then change
this:
10427 2tone.wav loop
10430 station.wav loop

to:

10427 2tone.wav control
10430 station.wav control

in the chevron to set control you can set play at once or as loop. or stop sound.

I hope this helps
Peter Wink
_________________
for next time and thanx Peter
如 如 Nothing is impossible if we make it together.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
austindave



Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 391
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Peter I did not want to control it I just wanted it to work. So this is what I did and don't ask me why it now works. I put 1 of peters sound at the end of the list still not working but the new sound did. so I put the Xli entry in to one called rus so I did not have to revalidate. It worked, I have now put it back in to urs Xli list and it stops working unless I put an extra number to the second line there are 365 models in that list I have to put 366 to get it to work. Shocked I'm gona keep it in the rus Xli list ans I have it now with control comand. Laughing


Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
brainbom
Site admin


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 311

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Dave!

I think the problem will be that you have used the same X file for both sounds.

Regards,
breainbom
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
austindave



Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 391
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi BB it did not start that way I had use a differnt 1 to start with. I have got it to work by adding one more entry to line 2. 365 models are in it but if I put 366 the sound works. But I have put the entry in rus as this has only 6 entrys and the sound now works. ? I don't know why. I put one of peters sounds after the 1 that would not work in the sound list. The Xli had 365 in second line and the sound would still not work but peters did. Anyway sorted now and controllable.

Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
twarner



Joined: 27 Sep 2008
Posts: 10
Location: Wales, UK

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

brainbom wrote:
Strange... Shocked it works on my computer...

Please check again if the destination folder is given right!

brainbom


I've found the problem. The installation path is given as 'BrainBombers\Rule the Rail\Rule the Rail!' So it's been installed in a new 'Rule the Rail!' subfolder and that's where the .txt file is.

Is this correct? Should I change the path to exclude 'Rule the Rail!'?

Terry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Chris



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 644
Location: Wisconsin, USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Terry,

I think you've found the problem. Just try moving that text file (were there others?) into the standard location.

The standard file structure should look something like this using xfiles as the subfolder: C:\Program Files\BrainBombers\Rule the Rail!\Scenes\xfiles

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
peter



Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Posts: 581
Location: germany,Thuringia

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hay Terry,
Itīs correct what Chris says.

Dave,
I īve 386 entries in my usr.xli,the same x file for 2 different sound is it not the problem.
It runs on my mach normal.

Brainbom,
These sounds are defined on IDīs and not on x-files
See here,the IDīs declare for RTR that the model1 not model2 is. Then you can define 2 sounds on an X-file.
MISC_TYPE 10430 ambstat.x 0.05 Station_snd
-
-
0
0
1364511

MISC_TYPE 10427 ambstat.x 0.05 XG2tone_snd
-
-
0
0
1364511

It īs still running from the first time on to now. Mr. Green

Peter
_________________
for next time and thanx Peter
如 如 Nothing is impossible if we make it together.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
twarner



Joined: 27 Sep 2008
Posts: 10
Location: Wales, UK

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chris wrote:
Hi Terry,

I think you've found the problem. Just try moving that text file (were there others?) into the standard location.

The standard file structure should look something like this using xfiles as the subfolder: C:\Program Files\BrainBombers\Rule the Rail!\Scenes\xfiles

Chris


There are 20 files in this new 'Rule the Rail!'subfolder so I'm now confused as to what should be where. What I really don't understand is why the installation path should do this if it's incorrect. I simply left things as the default seeing that my original installation was also the default thinking that the new installation would go to the correct places. It seems that the correct path should be just one 'Rule the Rail!' not two.

Terry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
peter



Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Posts: 581
Location: germany,Thuringia

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hay Terry,
Through this post you did you solved this problem neares by your self Razz
Then you can enjoy the new functions soon.
Peter
_________________
for next time and thanx Peter
如 如 Nothing is impossible if we make it together.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
twarner



Joined: 27 Sep 2008
Posts: 10
Location: Wales, UK

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perhaps someone could advise whether it would be correct for me to reinstall with only the main 'Rule the Rail!' folder as the installation path. Then I would have thought that all the changes would be made in the main game folder and I can delete the extra one.

It still doesn't explain though why the extra folder is in the installation path in the .exe file.

Terry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
peter



Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Posts: 581
Location: germany,Thuringia

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep Terry,
So exactly is it,and will be to be sure install the next modifcations on the right places. Wink
Peter
_________________
for next time and thanx Peter
如 如 Nothing is impossible if we make it together.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
twarner



Joined: 27 Sep 2008
Posts: 10
Location: Wales, UK

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 10:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Peter. Are you saying that the installation path was wrong in the .exe file?

If this is so then why does it seem that no-one else has noticed the problem?

Terry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Train games, railway games Rule the Rail! Forum Index -> New program version All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum