Railroad train games by Rule the Rail - Home Train games, railway games Rule the Rail!

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

automatic shunting yard
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Train games, railway games Rule the Rail! Forum Index -> Building the track system
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Chris



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 644
Location: Wisconsin, USA

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 2:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks.

Yeah, that is another instance of improper uncoupling. There should have been only one 'empty' ore car.

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Blazer9



Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 211
Location: Jacksonville FL

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 3:15 pm    Post subject: Decoupling issue Reply with quote

Chris on version 4 I have had the same as the governor when the twins are pushing the constence up to the back tracks and I have also had it at the beginning of the run with the other twins uploading screenshots for you to see the issue. I do not think it is the timing of the decoupler I think it maybe in the drift of the engines

Don
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Chris



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 644
Location: Wisconsin, USA

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don,

If we were dealing with a mechanical layout I could understand your position of engine drift. But in a computer simulation I would expect it to occur every time or none of the time.

As a note, I've had the timing even tighter than it is now to make the uncoupling operation as smooth as possible - occuring at/near the end of engine drift forward/backward. I've respaced the control-device distance just in case the actuation sensitivity of the control to triggering engine varies thereby causing the anomaly.

I have had the back mine operation run perfectly at times while at others I've encountered the same error both of you have witnessed.

So, I'm puzzled to say the least and that's why I referred the matter to Brainbom.

Thanks to both for taking the time to look at it. It's appreciated.

Regards, Chris


Last edited by Chris on Sat Apr 29, 2006 3:37 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Blazer9



Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 211
Location: Jacksonville FL

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 3:34 pm    Post subject: screenshots of issue Reply with quote

[p]
[p]


Last edited by Blazer9 on Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:03 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Chris



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 644
Location: Wisconsin, USA

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now that I think of it, I don't remember this type of problem in the previous version. V1.21 introduced a new feature in which tenders would not be uncoupled from their locos when passing over an open decoupler. I wonder if that might have anything to do with this behaviour? Just a thought.

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Blazer9



Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 211
Location: Jacksonville FL

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 3:57 pm    Post subject: a couple more screenshots Reply with quote

Chris it is possible that there is something in the code that is causing this issue

[p]
[p]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
brainbom
Site admin


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 311

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blazer9,

your terrain looks more than strange... Shocked

brainbom
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Blazer9



Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 211
Location: Jacksonville FL

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 6:30 pm    Post subject: terrain oddity Reply with quote

Brainbom I quess this is chris' strip mining operation

not my landscape
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Chris



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 644
Location: Wisconsin, USA

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don,

Your screenshots are bizarre. They show a number of texture grids in white (unlike those the Gov took).

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Blazer9



Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 211
Location: Jacksonville FL

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 6:47 pm    Post subject: terrain issue Reply with quote

HMM I see what you mean...updating my video card drivers ....should not be causing this it is 128meg vodoo with directx 9c ....AMD processor 1.6....1 gig ddr ram......will let you know
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Governor of Waldovia



Joined: 10 Feb 2006
Posts: 336
Location: Waldovia, Europe

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Definitely something amiss there Don. Is it the same at all zoom levels?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Governor of Waldovia



Joined: 10 Feb 2006
Posts: 336
Location: Waldovia, Europe

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don, have you played about with the texture file? '\objects\bitmaps\terrain.jpg'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Blazer9



Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 211
Location: Jacksonville FL

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 7:07 pm    Post subject: terrain issue Reply with quote

Governor,

I have not edited the terrain.jpg but thanks for the info{creating a curved section for the road}

and it shows on all zoom levels so i think it might be my video card drivers downloading the updated drivers now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Governor of Waldovia



Joined: 10 Feb 2006
Posts: 336
Location: Waldovia, Europe

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 7:40 pm    Post subject: Re: terrain issue Reply with quote

Blazer9 wrote:
Governor,

I have not edited the terrain.jpg but thanks for the info{creating a curved section for the road}
That's what I was thinking. If you make a curved road section on that graphic, someone else running your saved game would not see the road section you created but what was in the same position on their graphic, perhaps snow.
That would then give a simlar effect you have there.

As you say, that isn't the case here but worth bearing in mind for anybody that is thinking of altering the original.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Blazer9



Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 211
Location: Jacksonville FL

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 10:13 pm    Post subject: terrain issue Reply with quote

Governor and Brainbom

I think it was a bad memory stick

Downloaded the updated drivers 2 months out of date did not fix the issue

downloaded directx once again did not fix the issue

reinstalled the complete program upgrade and exp packs did not fix the issue

replaced the ddr stick fixed the issue

works fine now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Train games, railway games Rule the Rail! Forum Index -> Building the track system All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum